A Short Biography of Charles Dickens

Charles John Huffam Dickens was an English novelist, born in Portsmouth on 2 July 1812. He died at Gads Hill Place in Rochester on 9 June 1870. His most famous works include Oliver Twist, A Christmas Carol, A Tale of Two Cities, Great Expectations and David Copperfield.

Dickens was the second of eight children. He had to go to work to help support his family when he was only eleven-years-old. He drew on this experience in his later novels. Many of his works dealt with the social ills of his time. The unusual names of his characters are among the most memorable in English literature and some, such as Scrooge, have become part of the English language. In 1836, he married Catherine Hogarth with whom he had ten children. He also worked as a journalist and published his own magazine. His first novels were serialised in periodicals. The Pickwick Papers made him famous. He died at the age of 58 following a long illness and was buried at Westminster Abbey. He published 25 works in all, which he helped popularise during reading tours of North America. Many of his novels have been made into films; new adaptations are still being produced today. He  is one of the most widely read writers in English literature. There are several Dickens museums and a Dickens Society.

  • Born 07.12.1812 in England
  • Died 09.06.1870 in England
  • Author & journalist
  • Well known novels / stories:

A Christmas Carol
Oliver Twist
David Copperfield